Sports

UFC Fight Island 7: Max Hollway vs. Calvin Kattar fight card

UFC Fight Island 7: Max Holloway vs. Calvin Kattar fight card.

The UFC gets to kick off 2021 in an exciting style, as highly-popular and former UFC featherweight champion Max Holloway squares off with a rising contender in Calvin Kattar as the promotion hosts UFC Fight Island 7, the UFC’s first of three cards in an eight-day span in Abu Dhabi to start off the calendar year.

This marks Holloway’s first match since losing at July’s UFC 251 in a UFC featherweight title rematch to Alexander Volkanovski, the same man who won the title from him at UFC 245. The fight at UFC 251 was a lot more closely contested, with many in the MMA community feeling that Holloway, still No. 1 in the UFC featherweight contender rankings, was robbed of the gold.

Even UFC President Dana White had at one point teased a featherweight title trilogy bout, but obviously, that didn’t come to fruition.

Kattar, currently sitting at No. 6, will be looking to continue the momentum he scored in 2020 by defeating his toughest test to date and securing himself a top-5 contender position and bringing himself a step closer to a title shot. Kattar scored a big finish of Jeremy Stephens at UFC 249 before a win in an entertaining clash with Dan Ige at UFC Fight Island 1 — the latter taking place days after Holloway’s second loss to Volkanovski.

Full UFC Fight Island 7: Max Holloway vs. Calvin Kattar fight card

The full match card and details have yet to be finalized as of publication.

Here are the bouts confirmed for UFC Fight Island 7 thus far in no particular order (and subject to change):

Max Holloway vs. Calvin Kattar
Omari Akhmedov vs. Tom Breese
David Zawada vs. Ramazan Emeev
Santiago Ponzinibbio vs. Li Jingliang
Brian Kelleher vs. Ricky Simon
Tim Elliott vs. Jordan Espinosa
Mike Grundy vs. Nik Lentz
Carlos Felipe vs. Justin Tafa
Anthony Hernandez vs. Rodolfo Vieira
Jacob Kilburn vs. Austin Lingo
Punahele Soriano vs. Dusko Todorovic
Bethe Correia vs. Wu Yanan
Christian Aguilera vs. Warlley Alves

It’s going to be an earlier fight card than fans are used to, as UFC Fight Island 7 is scheduled to begin at 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT/9 a.m. PT (or 5 p.m. GMT) for prelims, with the main card beginning at 3 p.m. ET/2 p.m. CT/12 p.m. PT (or 8 p.m. GMT). For European MMA fans, it’s finally primetime viewing. For North American fans, it’s going to be an earlier Saturday viewing experience.

There were also reports that the UFC has been looking into having the card air on ABC, but that hasn’t been confirmed. It would be the first time the UFC is broadcasted on network television since the final UFC on Fox show in December 2018. For now, it is expected that the card will air entirely on ESPN+.

UFC Fight Island 7 takes place on Saturday, Jan. 16, 2020, live from Yas Island in Abu Dhabi, UAE. Follow along with FanSided for all your live news and highlights.




Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button