Big 12 releases statement on welcoming four schools to the conference

The Big 12 Conference is set to welcome four new members and has now released a statement on the matter. 

With Texas and Oklahoma soon to leave the Big 12 and join the SEC, the conference now welcomes four new members to the group. On Friday, the committee voted unanimously to accept UCF, Cincinnati, Houston, and BYU as the new members of the Big 12 conference, releasing a statement on extending membership invitations.

The Big 12 Conference Board of Directors this morning voted to extend membership invitations to Brigham Young University, the University of Central Florida, the University of Cincinnati, and the University of Houston to join the Conference.

Today’s actions were in accordance with Big 12 Conference Bylaw 1.5.2.b.3 requiring an affirmative vote of a supermajority of Directors, and was approved unanimously by the eight continuing members.

This move comes two months after the Texas Longhorns and Oklahoma Sooners announced their intention to leave the conference in 2025 and head to the SEC, a move that would have left the conference with just eight teams. Now, they will bring themselves back up to 12 schools.

Big 12 responds to Texas and Oklahoma leaving with 4 new members

BYU and Houston have already accepted their invitations. By joining the Big 12, the Golden Knights will become the youngest Power 5 team in college football, with the school having been established in 1979.

There is optimism that all four schools will be able to compete in a 14-team conference before the 2025 season when Texas and Oklahoma depart and head to the SEC.

For more NCAA football news, analysis, opinion and unique coverage by FanSided, including Heisman Trophy and College Football Playoff rankings, be sure to bookmark these pages.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button